Scavenge

From MTG Salvation Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Scavenge is a keyword ability that was introduced in Return to Ravnica. Dragon's Maze added 2 cards with scavenge. It basically reads as a variation on flashback that makes target creature bigger.

From the Comprehensive Rules

  • 702.96. Scavenge
    • 702.96a Scavenge is an activated ability that functions only while the card with scavenge is in a graveyard. "Scavenge [cost]" means "[Cost], Exile this card from your graveyard: Put a number of +1/+1 counter equal to the power of the card you exiled on target creature. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery."

Contents

Rulings

  • Exiling the creature card with scavenge is part of the cost of activating the scavenge ability. Once the ability is activated and the cost is paid, it’s too late to stop the ability from being activated by trying to remove the creature card from the graveyard.

Reminder text

The latest reminder text for Scavenge reads Exile this card from your graveyard: Put a number of +1/+1 counters equal to this card's power on target creature. Scavenge only as a sorcery.

Example

  • Dreg Mangler - Mana1.gifManab.gifManag.gif
    Creature — Plant Zombie
    3/3
    Haste
    Scavenge Mana3.gifManab.gifManag.gif (Mana3.gifManab.gifManag.gif, Exile this card from your graveyard: Put a number of +1/+1 counters equal to this card's power on target creature. Scavenge only as a sorcery.)

Color percentages

There is a total of 12 cards that involve scavenge, which divide by color as such:

  • Green = 50 %
  • Black = 25 %
  • Multicolored = 25 %
Personal tools
Namespaces

Variants
Actions
Navigation
Tools